Home Teaching Tunes Resources Forum Museum Store Contact
Gatherer's Musical Museum
 The Loose Moose Ceilidh Band
  • The Loose Moose Ceilidh Band
 Scottish Dance Bands
The Loose Moose Ceilidh Band

The Loose Moose Ceilidh Band were formed by fiddler Rosa Michaelson (Sprangeen), Jim Leighton (later in An Teallach), Colin Allison, Dave McNally and Angus Wares.

Any more information about the group would be gratefully received: email me. Some of the band's recorded output is detailed below.

Alba The Loose Moose Ceilidh Band (Lomoco Records, CD001, 1992)

Bessie MacKinnon (MacKinnon)/The Theif of Lochaber/Minnie Hynd (MacLean)/Donnie MacGregor (McPherson); Breton Medley/Ronan Sicar's Jig (Sicar); Caledonian Laddie; McHugh's/King's Favourite/Hadden's Gift; The Poppy Leaf/Alexander's Hornpipe/The Golden Eagle; Star Dust (McNally)/Timewarp (McNally); John McColl's March to Kilbowie Cottage (Lawrie)/Jessie Henderson (Pitkeathly); My Tocher's the Jewel/Why Can't We Get Along? (Charnes); Slanty Gart; Chez Seychelles; Angus Sutherland (Williamson)/John Rechnagel's Fancy (MacDonald)/Maggie's Pancakes (Morrison); The Staple Project (McNally)/Martha's Vineyard (McNally)/The Pisa Project (McNally)/

All tracks traditional except where indicated

Colin Allison (acoustic, electric and bass guitars);
Jim Leighton (accordion, synthesisers);
Dave McNally (Smallpipes, Highland pipes, whistles, wind synthesiser);
Rosa Michaelson (fiddle, triangle);
Angus Wares (mandolins, acoustic guitar, tiple)

 Nigel Gatherer, Crieff, Perthshire |